In hopes that I don't have to keep regurgitating my vacation, I am starting a series of blog posts of my recent trip to Bali. One day, one post.
May 30th, 2010
Kuta - Day 1
After a week straight of meeting after meeting, I took my first vacation in a year. I arrived to two line ups of epic proportions. The first line was quick. You give the guy $25US and he gives to a receipt for the Visa you just bought. The next line was a bit of a gong show. There were probably 10 lines, with easily 50 people in each. As I've often thought, immigration in any country is no fun. Luckily I snapped my line-up unlucky streak and picked the only line with two border agents. So, I got through in about 45 minutes. My border guard was awesome. He liked me simply because I was Canadian. (And before anyone feels like commenting, yes, I know you can get a Visa before you go, I didn't have time.)
After immigration, I had to locate my bag. All the bags had been removed from the belts, as there were so many flights arriving. Oddly enough, I found my immediately, despite the fact that it's black. I recognized the wheels of all things. I had to wrestle it out of the hands of a porter though, who seemed determined to get money out of me. It didn't work. I found my ride and headed to my resort.
The place I was staying at first was a resort, so naturally it was amazing. Very private bungalows and villas, lagoon pools, swim-up bars. Naturally I hit up the pool instantly. Some friendly Aussies invited me to have some drinks with them and after 2 hours I was sufficiently drunk. I joined them on the beach to watch the sunset. Despite some renegade clouds, it was beautiful. Tomorrow I would figure out my plan for the next few days and hopefully head into Kuta to explore.
Day 1 was a bit whirlwind, but I was finally on vacation.
~Bean
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment